Tuesday Tip! Share Your Originals Without Fear
When you share a Google creation with a colleague, often you are including them as a collaborator who contributes, tweaks, and improves your work. Sometimes, though, you want to keep your original document, slides, etc., well, original without collaboration. In that case, there are a couple of ways to share it.
The first, and most common way, is to share your Google creation with View only rights. This allows the folks you have shared your items with to access links but not make changes to your original. If those with whom the item is shared want to use it and tweak it to make it their own, all that is needed is for the person to select File and Make a copy…
The second way is to force a copy. When sharing the link associated with your original, change the last portion of the link by deleting back to the last slash mark and adding copy.
When the person attempts to open the link, a new screen will pop up like this: